2008 Caine Prize Residency

Henrietta Rose-Innes

Henrietta Rose-Innes is the 2008 Caine Prize winner. Jude Kelly, the Southbank Centre’s artistic director and chair of the 2008 committee, praised Rose-Innes’ writing for its “rare maturity and a poetic intelligence that is both subtle and deeply effective. It is writing of the highest order.”

The Caine Prize for African Writing is named in memory of the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc and was first awarded in 2000. Since 2007, the Lannan Center and the GU English Department have partnered to sponsor a one-month residency at Georgetown for the winner. During their time here, the Caine Prize winner holds office hours, visits classes, and gives readings to the public.

Read more about Henrietta Rose-Innes